C-17 Crew Identified; Two From Anchorage

The Air Force has identified the crew killed in a C-17 crash earlier this week at Elmendorf Air Force Base.

They are:

* Maj. Michael Freyholtz. Pilot. 34. Hines, Minn. 249th Airlift Squadron. Alaska Air National Guard.
* Maj. Aaron Malone. Pilot.  36. Anchorage, AK. 249th Airlift Squadron. Alaska Air National Guard.
* Capt. Jeffrey Hill. 31. York, Pa. 517th Airlift Squadron. Elmendorf Air Force Base.
* Master Sgt. Thomas Cicardo. 47. Anchorage, AK. Loadmaster. 249th Airlift Squadron. Alaska Air National Guard.

“We come to work with immense sorrow after four of our fellow airmen lost their lives in the C-17 crash at Elmendorf AFB Wednesday,” said Brig. Gen. Charles E. “Chuck” Foster in a statement released Friday afternoon.

Foster is commander of the 176th Wing of the Alaska Air National Guard.

“They were more than valued Airmen: They were our teammates, friends, family members and fellow Alaskans. We mourn their loss and share the deep sadness of their families.”

“These fallen warriors embody the pride and professionalism of American Airmen,” said Col. John McMullen, 3rd Wing commander. “They selflessly served their country and will be sorely missed by our entire Arctic Warrior family.”

The crash occurred early Wednesday evening just after takeoff. The crew were preparing for this weekend’s air show.

Authorities are investigating the reasons for the crash.