Murkowski Trails Miller; Parnell Leads Field

Joe Miller held a razor-thin lead over incumbent Senator Lisa Murkowski in the Republican primary late Tuesday evening.

Miller led the incumbent 51.47 pct (40,841) to 48.53 pct (38,507) with just more than 61.2 pct of the precincts counted.

A Miller victory would mirror other anti-incumbent wins around the country. The Murkowski-Miller race jumped into the national spotlight when Miller was endorsed by former Governor Sarah Palin.

Governor Sean Parnell, who took office after Palin resigned, was fending off several challengers including Ralph Samuels and Bill Walker. Parnell was drawing about 49 pct of the vote.

Democrats chose Sitka Mayor Scott McAdams to run against the Republican Senate nominee.

Ethan Berkowitz appeared to have won the Democratic nomination for governor defeating state Senator Hollis French.

Rep. Don Young easily won renomination and he will face Harry Crawford, a state legislator from Anchorage, in November.

Diane Benson won the Democratic nomination for lieutenant governor. Mead Treadwell was well ahead of Jay Ramras, a state legislator from Fairbanks, in the GOP race.

Alaskans also voted on two ballot measures Tuesday. One of the measures – No. 2 – would require parents to be notified if their teen, 18 or under, sought an abortion. This measure was winning approval. The other – No. 1 – was losing. It would have restricted lobbying and campaign contributions.

In other election results late Tuesday:

  • Senate District P (Anchorage): Catherine Giessel held a commanding lead over Mark Moronell and Jennifer Johnston for the GOP nomination.
  • House District 2  (Southeast): Peggy Wilson, the incumbent, was ahead of Steven Samuelson in the GOP race.
  • House District 10 (Fairbanks): Steven Thompson held a wide lead over Vivian Stiver and Rahoi Urban in the Republican race.
  • House District 12 (Valdez): Eric Feige, Pete Fellman and Don Haase were locked in a right race for the GOP nomination.
  • House District 13: (Mat-Su): Carl Gatto was leading Don Benson in the GOP race.
  • House District 15: (Mat-Su): Mark Newman was far ahead of Stephen Jacobson in the GOP race.
  • House District 18 (Anchorage): Bill Cook was leading Dan Saddler and Dan Kendall for the GOP nomination.
  • House District 30 (Anchorage): Charisse Millett appeared to have easily defeated Jeannett Reddington in the Republican primary.
  • House District 31 (Anchorage): Bob Lynn was defeating Steve Pratt for the GOP nomination.
  • House District 39 (Nome): Neal Foster held a commanding lead over Vincent Beans for the Democratic nomination.

Results from August 24, Alaska Primary election are still unofficial. Here’s the spot to check for updates:

Also listen for updates during Morning Edition on Wednesday from 5:00 – 9:00 am and Wednesday at 6:00 pm on Alaska News Nightly on KSKA.