Mackey; Zirkle; Williams, Jr. Reach Nome

Photo by Dianna Haecker, APRN

Iditarod Champion John Baker of Kotzebue celebrates his victory with daugther Tahayla in Nome.
Mushers continued to arrive in Nome Tuesday morning including defending champion Lance Mackey, Aliy Zirkle, DeeDee Jonrowe and Michael Williams, Jr.

John Baker of Kotzebue won this year’s contest setting a new record for the event. His time, according to Iditarod officials, was: 8 days, 18 hours, 46 minutes and 39 seconds. He arrived in Nome on Tuesday morning just before 10 a.m. He finished the race with 10 dogs.

Ramey Smyth finished second. He arrived in Nome Tuesday shortly before 11 a.m. His time was: 8 days, 19 hours, 50 minutes and 59 seconds. He finished the race with 8 dogs.

Hans Gatt finished third. He arrived in Nome Tuesday about 3:30 p.m. His time was: 9 days, 0 hours, 24 minutes, and 23 seconds. He finished with 10 dogs.

Other top finishers Wednesday morning included:

  • Dallas Seavey
  • Hugh Neff
  • Sebastian Schnuelle
  • Ray Redington, Jr.
  • Peter Kaiser
  • Ken Anderson
  • Jessie Royer
  • Aliy Zirkle
  • DeeDee Jonrowe
  • Michael Williams, Jr.
  • Sven Haltmann
  • Sonny Lindner
  • Lance Mackey

Download Audio (MP3)