Zirkle Leads Mushers Into Nikolai

Aliy Zirkle was the first musher to ride into Nikolai at 9:14 a.m., followed by reigning champion John Baker at 9:36 a.m..

Lance Mackey isn’t far behind, making it into the checkpoint just before 10:00 a.m.

Hugh Neff and Ray Redington Jr. round out the top-5 so far.

Mitch Seavey, Jeff King, Paul Gebhardt, Aaron Burmeister and Dallas Seavey have also finished the run to Nikolai.

Previous articleRunning 2012: Questions for the Candidates?
Next articleMushers Reach Nikolai; Zirkle, Baker, Mackey, Neff Among Leaders

Josh is the web producer for alaskapublic.org.

He has been a part of the web team since his internship during the summer of 2010.

Besides maintaining the website, he also reports for the Alaska Public Radio Network, gives occasional live news updates on KSKA 91.1FM during All Things Considered, runs camera and directs programs for Alaska Public Television, and has taken numerous photos and videos that appear on alaskapublic.org.

Prior to graduating from the Journalism and Public Communications Department at the University of Alaska Anchorage in December 2010, Josh worked at The Northern Light student newspaper where he and his staff won two Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker Awards.

He has also been an adjunct instructor for the JPC department at UAA.

Born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska, Josh enjoys being outdoors, so when isn’t at work, you can usually find him out fishing, camping, hunting, four-wheeling, or snowmachining.

jedge (at) alaskapublic (dot) org | 907.550.8455 | About Josh