Menu Schedule Links


Zirkle into Kaltag with Iditarod Lead

March 10, 2012

Aliy Zirkle continued her charge to win this year’s Iditarod reaching Kaltag a little after 11 am Saturday morning. Should she reach Nome first, she would be the first woman to win the race since Susan Butcher won in 1990.

She maintained her lead over fomer champion Mitch Seavey and last year’s champion, John Baker. The two were battling for second position after leaving Nulato Saturday morning. Aaron Burmeister had slipped ahead of Dallas Seavey and Jeff King.

You can subscribe to APRN’s newsfeeds via email, podcast and RSS. Follow us on Facebook at and on Twitter @aprn.


Please read our comment guidelines.