Menu Schedule Links


Zirkle is First to Unalakleet

March 11, 2012

Aliy Zirkle maintained her lead in the Iditarod early Sunday morning arriving first in Unalakleet. She won an award and $2,500 in gold nuggets for being the first team to arrive. Dallas Seavey bolted into second place and arrived about 45 minutes later, about 8:20 am. Aaron Burmeister also was into Unalakleet Sunday morning.

The leaders now will race along the edge of Norton Sound to the next checkpoint, Shaktoolik.

Last year’s champion John Baker and past champions Jeff King and Mitch Seavey were nearing Unalakleet about 9:00 Sunday morning.

Zirkle was racing with 12 dogs, Dallas Seavey with 11 dogs and Burmeister with 15 dogs.

Brent Sass and Anjanette Steer were out of Kaltag and leading the field of rookies.

You can subscribe to APRN’s newsfeeds via email, podcast and RSS. Follow us on Facebook at and on Twitter @aprn.