Higgins To Run For Alaska House Seat

The Alaska Democratic party has a new leader, after chairwoman Patti Higgins resigned to run for the Legislature.

Don Gray will act as interim chair until Mike Wenstrup, who was elected to succeed Higgins, takes over the chairmanship in January. Both Gray and Wenstrup are from Fairbanks.

Higgins, of Anchorage, plans to run for the seat currently held by Republican state Rep. Charisse Millett.

Higgins served as party chair for nearly five years, having taken the helm in July 2007.