Canada Closes 5 US Consulates

The Canadian government is closing five consulates in the United States, including Anchorage.

The other closures are in Buffalo, N.Y., Philadelphia, Phoenix and Raleigh-Durham, N.C.

A government spokeswoman said nearby hubs will provide services to areas that had consulates close.

The spokeswoman, Aliya Mawani, says in an email to The Associated Press that the closures will help protect Canada’s interests in promoting that country’s values in as many countries as possible while also delivering value for Canadian taxpayers.