54 Mushers Sign Up On First Day Of Iditarod Registration

2012 Iditarod champion Dallas Seavey. Photo by Patrick Yack, APRN - Anchorage

Fifty-four mushers are already signed up for the 2013 Iditarod. Registration began Saturday. So far, the field includes nine rookies and plenty of familiar faces.

Some of the more not

able names signed up for the 2013 race include reigning champion Dallas Seavey, four-time winners Lance Mackey, Martin Buser and Jeff King as well as 2011 champion John Baker.

There are still some bigger names who aren’t on the list yet, but Iditarod Communications Director Erin McLarnon says that’s not too unusual.

“We haven’t seen Rick Swenson sign up. We haven’t seen Hugh Neff sign up. Those are a couple of the larger names that we haven’t seen cross our paths yet, but it’s not rare for people not to sign up on that first day,” McLarnon said.

McLarnon says this year’s first-day registration numbers topped last year’s 46 entrants.

Among the rookies in next year’s race is Luan Ramos Marques, the Iditarod’s first-ever musher from Brazil.

Jamaica’s Newton Marshall, who finished the 2010 Iditarod in 47th place and scratched in 2011, is also going to give the race another try next year after taking 2012 off.

Those who signed up Saturday will be the first to draw their numbers at the mushers’ banquet in February – guaranteeing them a number and starting place between two and 55.

McLarnon says the different registration deadlines are something racers take into account when planning their race.

“When those mushers depart from the start line, there’s actually kind of strategy to when they want to leave,” she said.

The final deadline for registration is November 30.

Download Audio