Young, Cissna Win; Ballot Measures Fail

Photo by Daysha Eaton, KSKA - Anchorage

Incumbent U.S. Representative Don Young easily won the Republican nomination for Congress on Tuesday. He will face Sharon Cissna who handily defeated a field of Democrats and Jim McDermott who ran unopposed for the Libertarian nomination.

Two statewide ballot measures failed. One would have created a coastal zone management program (38% yes, 62% no) and the other would have allowed local governments to create additional property tax relief (49.45% yes, 50.55% no).

Young won with nearly 79% of the vote. His nearest rival, John Cox had 15% and Terre Gales had 7%.  Cissna, a legislator from Anchorage, won with nearly 43% of the vote. Others in the race included Matt Moore (19%), Debra Chesnut (15%), Frank Vondersaar (5%) and Doug Urquidi (3%).

In key Senate races:

– Click Bishop (49%) defeated David Eastman (21%) and Ralph Seekins (30%) for the Republican nomination in Fairbanks’ District C.

– Mike Dunleavy (58%) defeated incumbent Linda Menard (42%)  for the Republican nomination for District D which covers parts of the Mat-Su Valley.

– Republican Don Smith (59%) beat his Senate District H opponent Clint Hess (41%) in an Anchorage race.

– Bob Bell (60%) won the Republican nomination in Anchorage’s District J defeating Elizabeth Vazquez (40%).

– Incumbent Lesil McGuire (56%) defeated challenger Jeff Landfield (44%) for the Republican nomination in Anchorage’s District K.

– Incumbent Democrat Bettye Davis (51%) edged challenger Harry Crawford (49%) for District M in East Anchorage.

– Incumbent Catherine Giessel (67%) beat Joe Arness (34%) for the Republican nomination in District N which stretches from south Anchorage through parts of the Kenai.

– Peter Micchiche (60%) beat incumbent Thomas Wagoner (40%) for the Republican nomination in Kenai’s District O.

In key House races:

Benjamin Nageak (36%) defeated three other opponents for the Democratic nomination District 40. He beat Adeline Hopson (6%), Robert Nelson (25%) and Greta Schuerch (33%). District 40 includes the North Slope Borough and Northwest Arctic Borough.

– Incumbent Eric Feige (53%) won the Republican nomination in District 6 (parts of Mat-Su) narrowly beating George Rauscher (47%).

– Incumbent Paul Seaton (55%) won the Republican nomination in Homer’s District 30 defeating Jon Faulkner (45%).

For complete results go to State of Alaska.

Previous articleSoutheast Primary Results: 10 Candidates, 5 Races
Next articleValley Upset Unseats Menard

Josh is the web producer for

He has been a part of the web team since his internship during the summer of 2010.

Besides maintaining the website, he also reports for the Alaska Public Radio Network, gives occasional live news updates on KSKA 91.1FM during All Things Considered, runs camera and directs programs for Alaska Public Television, and has taken numerous photos and videos that appear on

Prior to graduating from the Journalism and Public Communications Department at the University of Alaska Anchorage in December 2010, Josh worked at The Northern Light student newspaper where he and his staff won two Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker Awards.

He has also been an adjunct instructor for the JPC department at UAA.

Born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska, Josh enjoys being outdoors, so when isn’t at work, you can usually find him out fishing, camping, hunting, four-wheeling, or snowmachining.

jedge (at) alaskapublic (dot) org | 907.550.8455 | About Josh