Republicans Pick Up AK Senate Seats

Republicans picked up seats in the Alaska Senate in Tuesday’s election.

Among the key races included:

  • Fairbanks-area Republicans John Coghill and Pete Kelly won their bids, as did Republican Click Bishop.
  • Democratic incumbent Bettye Davis lost to Republican Anna Fairclough in an Anchorage-Eagle River district.
  • Democrat Albert Kookesh (Angoon) and Republican Bert Stedman (Sitka) were pitted against each other in District Q in Southeast Alaska. Stedman won.
  • Democrat Hollis French edged Republican Bob Bell in Anchorage’s District J.

Results in closely-watched races:

  • Senate A (Fairbanks):          Joe Thomas (D) –  5,233                   John Coghill (R) – 7,406
  • Senate B (Fairbanks):          Joe Paskvan (D) –  4,268                  Pete Kelly (R) – 4,797
  • Senate C (Fairbanks, Delta, Valdez): Anne Sudkamp (D) – 3,146        Click Bishop (R) – 7,985
  • Senate G (Anchorage):        Bill Wielechowski (D) – 5,113   Bob Roses (R) – 3,510
  • Senate H (Anchorage):        Berta Gardner (D) – 5,658        Don Smith (R) – 3,826
  • Senate J (Anchorage):         Hollis French (D) –  6,415         Bob Bell (R) – 6,166
  • Senate M: (Anchorage):      Bettye Davis (D) –  5,350                  Anna Fairclough (R) – 8,149
  • Senate N (Anchorage-Nikiski-Seward):        Cathy Giessel (R) – 7,671               Ron Devon (NA – 5,808
  • Senate Q (Southeast Alaska):                          Albert Kookesh (D) – 4,011                  Bert Stedman (R) – 7,187

Complete Alaska election results.

Previous articleLess Than 100 Votes Separate House District 34 Contenders
Next articleBond Proposition Passes, Constitutional Convention Loses Big

Josh is the web producer for

He has been a part of the web team since his internship during the summer of 2010.

Besides maintaining the website, he also reports for the Alaska Public Radio Network, gives occasional live news updates on KSKA 91.1FM during All Things Considered, runs camera and directs programs for Alaska Public Television, and has taken numerous photos and videos that appear on

Prior to graduating from the Journalism and Public Communications Department at the University of Alaska Anchorage in December 2010, Josh worked at The Northern Light student newspaper where he and his staff won two Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker Awards.

He has also been an adjunct instructor for the JPC department at UAA.

Born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska, Josh enjoys being outdoors, so when isn’t at work, you can usually find him out fishing, camping, hunting, four-wheeling, or snowmachining.

jedge (at) alaskapublic (dot) org | 907.550.8455 | About Josh