Menu Schedule Links


Chenault To Return As Alaska House Speaker

By | November 9, 2012

The Republican-dominated majority of the Alaska House of Representatives has organized with a familiar face in the speaker’s chair. A majority announcement says Nikiski Representative Mike Chenault will return for a third term as speaker.

Anchorage Representative Lance Pruitt, who holds a 96-vote lead over Democrat Pete Peterson, was picked as majority leader.

Chugiak Representative Bill Stoltze and Kodiak Representative Alan Austerman were selected as Finance Committee co-chairmen.

In the Senate, Sitka Republican Bert Stedman and Juneau Democrat Dennis Egan have announced they’re joining the 14 member majority caucus. Egan is the first democrat to do so.

Download Audio

About The Associated Press

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.