68 Mushers Register For 2013 Iditarod

2012 Iditarod champion Dallas Seavey. Photo by Patrick Yack, APRN – Anchorage

Registration for the 2013 Iditarod closes tonight. Sixty-eight mushers are on the docket so far.

Mark Nordman, the Iditarod race director and race marshal, says the lineup likely won’t change much before tonight’s deadline.

“It’s pretty much finalized, you know, after midnight tonight unless somebody else calls in,” Nordman said. “I think we’re gonna be looking at 68 teams.”

“There’s one other individual that may be trying to get some qualifiers done and having to do some other things for it, but we should plan on 68 right now.”

The 2013 race will feature 12 rookies, coming from all over Alaska and as far away as Norway, Russia and Brazil.

There are many familiar faces in the field as well. Reigning champion Dallas Seavey and runner-up Aliy Zirkle are set to race.

DeeDee Jonrowe, Martin Buser, Jeff King, Lance Mackey, John Baker and plenty of other Iditarod veterans will also be heading to Nome.

Nordman says snow levels on the trail are low, but that’s not stopping competitors from training.

“Everybody is looking for snow,” Nordman said. “We’ve got guys training on trucks and four-wheelers still, and everything but boats, actually, as cold as it’s been.”

“But, yeah, it’s a light snow year.”

The 2013 Iditarod’s ceremonial start is March 2 in Anchorage, and will officially start out of Willow on March 3.

Click here for the full list of mushers registered for the 2013 Iditarod.

Previous articleShell Underwater Oil-Spill Equipment Fails Key Test
Next articleIndependent Lens: We Were Here

Josh is the web producer for alaskapublic.org.

He has been a part of the web team since his internship during the summer of 2010.

Besides maintaining the website, he also reports for the Alaska Public Radio Network, gives occasional live news updates on KSKA 91.1FM during All Things Considered, runs camera and directs programs for Alaska Public Television, and has taken numerous photos and videos that appear on alaskapublic.org.

Prior to graduating from the Journalism and Public Communications Department at the University of Alaska Anchorage in December 2010, Josh worked at The Northern Light student newspaper where he and his staff won two Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker Awards.

He has also been an adjunct instructor for the JPC department at UAA.

Born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska, Josh enjoys being outdoors, so when isn’t at work, you can usually find him out fishing, camping, hunting, four-wheeling, or snowmachining.

jedge (at) alaskapublic (dot) org | 907.550.8455 | About Josh