Dems Submit List Of Candidates For Kerttula Seat

Democrats in Southeast Alaska have named their list of finalists to fill the Alaska House seat vacated by Beth Kerttula last month.

They are Jesse Kiehl, Catherine Reardon and Sam Kito III. The Tongass Democrats submitted a list of three names to Gov. Sean Parnell on Monday.

Under the law, the governor is to appoint a qualified replacement within 30 days of a vacancy. The law states that the appointee shall be a member of the same political party as the predecessor and, in this case, would be subject to confirmation by a majority of House Democrats.

Kerttula, a Democrat from Juneau, resigned on Jan. 24 for a fellowship at Stanford University.