Buser Regains Iditarod Lead, First Out of Rohn

Martin Buser retook the lead in the 2014 Iditarod, leaving Rohn about 1:45 Monday afternoon. Kelly Maixner was the first musher into Rohn, checking in at 11:26 a.m.

Buser was being chased by Aliy Zirkle, who finished second in 2013 and 2012. She left Rohn about 5:22 Monday evening. Right behind her was Sonny Lindner. Hugh Neff and Jeff King trailed Lindner.

By 9:00 p.m. 17 other teams – including Maixner – had made it to Rohn including last year’s winner Mitch Seavey and the 2012 winner Dallas Seavey.