King Charges to Lead in Iditarod; First Out of Cripple

Jeff King – Photo by Patrick Yack, Alaska Public Media

Jeff King took the lead in the 2014 Iditarod when he charged out of Cripple Wednesday night ahead of Sonny Lindner. King left about 8:30 and Lindner followed at 9:09. Both were racing with 14 dogs.

Aaron Burmeister, John Baker, Paul Gephardt and Martin Buser trailed the leaders and were still in Cripple early Thursday morning. Buser is among 26 mushers who have taken their 24-hour mandatory layover. Neither King nor Lindner has taken the long layover.

Katherine Keith resumed the lead among rookies. She was out of Ophir.

Last year’s winner, Mitch Seavey was out of Ophir, too, and in 15th place. Aliy Zirkle, who finished second last year, was in ninth place and out of Ophir.

Rookie Lev Shvarts scratched Wednesday night in Rohn.