Dallas Seavey Takes Iditarod Lead

Dallas Seavey. Photo by Josh Edge, APRN - Anchorage.
Dallas Seavey. Photo by Josh Edge, APRN – Anchorage.

UPDATE: Dallas Seavey overtakes Aliy Zirkle for the lead, checking out of Safety at 1:16 a.m.

Denali musher Jeff King scratched near Safety at 11:50 Monday evening as he closed in on front-runner Aliy Zirkle – who remains in the checkpoint.

King told race officials he was having difficulty navigating the trail due to severe wind in the area.

2012 Iditarod Champion Dallas Seavey has closed the distance, arriving in Safety at approximately 1:15 a.m. Tuesday.

Last year’s champion, Mitch Seavey currently stands in third place.


Previous articleParnell Won’t Pull California Appointee From Pipeline Assessment Board
Next articlePart 3: Musher Mike Santos – Iditarod

Josh is the web producer for alaskapublic.org.

He has been a part of the web team since his internship during the summer of 2010.

Besides maintaining the website, he also reports for the Alaska Public Radio Network, gives occasional live news updates on KSKA 91.1FM during All Things Considered, runs camera and directs programs for Alaska Public Television, and has taken numerous photos and videos that appear on alaskapublic.org.

Prior to graduating from the Journalism and Public Communications Department at the University of Alaska Anchorage in December 2010, Josh worked at The Northern Light student newspaper where he and his staff won two Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker Awards.

He has also been an adjunct instructor for the JPC department at UAA.

Born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska, Josh enjoys being outdoors, so when isn’t at work, you can usually find him out fishing, camping, hunting, four-wheeling, or snowmachining.

jedge (at) alaskapublic (dot) org | 907.550.8455 | About Josh