The FM transmitter in the Girdwood area is currently offline due to technical difficulties.

Menu Schedule Links

Dallas Seavey Takes Iditarod Lead

By | March 11, 2014

Dallas Seavey. Photo by Josh Edge, APRN - Anchorage.

Dallas Seavey. Photo by Josh Edge, APRN – Anchorage.

UPDATE: Dallas Seavey overtakes Aliy Zirkle for the lead, checking out of Safety at 1:16 a.m.

Denali musher Jeff King scratched near Safety at 11:50 Monday evening as he closed in on front-runner Aliy Zirkle – who remains in the checkpoint.

King told race officials he was having difficulty navigating the trail due to severe wind in the area.

2012 Iditarod Champion Dallas Seavey has closed the distance, arriving in Safety at approximately 1:15 a.m. Tuesday.

Last year’s champion, Mitch Seavey currently stands in third place.


You can subscribe to APRN’s newsfeeds via email, podcast and RSS. Follow us on Facebook at and on Twitter @aprn.


Please read our comment guidelines.