Our 2010 Alaska Press Club winners

At this year’s Alaska Press Club Awards, APTI (KSKA, APRN, KAKM) took home a total of 5 journalism awards.

Libby Casey, our Washington DC correspondent for APRN, took first place in Best Reporting on Crime or Courts for “Supreme Court Hears Weyrauch Case.” The judge in this category wrote: “Solid focus to a controversial incident that is surprisingly complex. Libby Casey puts an Alaska political corruption story into a national context, and gives listeners insights into how current court justices deliberate the vagaries of law. Libby Casey is a Nina Totenburg in the making.” Libby also took second place in “Best Government or Political Reporting” for “Begich Won’t Step Down.”

Annie Feidt of APRN took first place for “Best Arts Coverage” for “Aniak raises the curtain.” The judge in this category wrote: “Annie Feidt takes an unconventional approach to a conventional Alaska story about a small town’s holiday school play. Great character development and story structure come together through nice writing to convey a sense of community. Feidt quotes the school choir director saying the principal ‘creates great theater with kids.’ Feidt has done the same for radio listeners.” Annie also took third place for “Best Sports Reporting” for “Iditarod Rookies.”

Kristin Spack of KSKA took second place in the category of Best Ongoing Public Affairs Program for “Addressing Alaskans,” our series of broadcasts of public affairs presentations made at various events around the region. (First place in this category went to KMXT/Kodiak’s Jay Barrett for “The Alaska Fisheries Report,” which airs on APRN.)

Hooray for APRN and KSKA public radio!