Election Night 2010: Incumbents Parnell and Young Re-Elected, Possibly Murkowski

Photo by Josh Edge, APRN – Anchorage.

With 70% vote counted as of 11:30 pm on election night, Alaska voters have decided Governor Sean Parnell will return to the Governor’s mansion with running mate Mead Treadwell.

Governor/Lt. Governor

  • Parnell/Treadwell (R) – 59.04%
  • Berkowitz/Benson (D) – 38.11%

Congressman Don Young will also return to the U.S. House of Representatives, a post he’s held since 1973.

U.S. Representative

  • Young (R) – 68%
  • Crawford (D) – 31.3%

In what could become a historical vote in Alaska, the write-in presumed to be incumbent Lisa Murkowski leads Joe Miller (R) and Scott McAdams (D). Counting of individual write-in ballots begins on Nov. 18.

U.S. Senator
12:00 AM November 3

  • Write-in – 39.4%
  • Joe Miller (R) – 35.2%
  • Scott McAdams (D) – 24.2 %

In the race for Alaska senate District P, Republican Cathy Giessel won another three way race.

Alaska Senate District P

  • Cathy Giessel (R) – 48.72%
  • Janet Reiser (D) – 39.26%
  • Phillip Dziubinski – 11.8%

Supreme Court justice Fabe has not been removed from the Alaska Supreme Court.

In Senate District 29 Anchorage /E. Dimond Democrat, Chris Tuck will return to Alaska legislature.

House District 7, Republican, Mike Kelley 48.8% is now behind Democrat, Bob Miller at 50.7%.

Listen to Alaska Morning News at 7:06 AM and 8:06 AM and Alaska News Nightly for complete summary of the midterm election 2010 results.