Alaska Republicans Consolidate General Election Gains

Steve Heimel, APRN – Anchorage

Republicans have organized the Alaska House, consolidating gains made for the party in the general election.

Mike Chenault of Nikiski will be speaker, Alan Austerman of Kodiak Majority Leader.  Bush caucus Democrats get a couple of Finance committee seats.

Finance Co-Chairs will be Bill Stoltze of Mat-Su and Bill Thomas of Haines.   Newly elected Republican Dan Saddler of Anchorage gets co chairmanships of Military and Veterans Affairs and the Joint Armed Services committee.  Lance Pruitt of Anchorage will co-chair Energy with Democrat Neal Foster of Nome.

Download Audio (MP3)

Previous articleTwo Dead After Head-On Crash on Kenai Spur Highway
Next articleLine One: Popular Psychology Myths