Iditarod Leaders Arrive in Anvik

Len Anderson, APRN – Anchorage

Hugh NeffThe first of the Iditarod leaders are appearing at the Anvik checkpoint with several others on their way having left Shageluk this morning.   Hugh Neff arrived first in Anvik at 5:26 followed by John Baker at 5:43.   Lance Mackey arrived about 30 minutes later with Ray Redington Jr and Martin Buser expected shortly.  After that, it’s Sonny Lindner, and Sebastian Schnuelle, Ramey Smith, Hans Gatt and Mike Williams Jr.

All ten have taken their mandatory 24 hour layover.

Photo by Josh Edge, APRN – Anchorage: Hugh Neff departs from the race restart in Willow on March 6, 2011.

Download Audio (MP3)