65 Mushers Complete Iditarod Entries So Far

So far, 65 mushers have completed entries for the 2012 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race.  Entries must carry a Nov. 30 postmark, so some more may be coming in, according to race officials.  Next year marks the 40th running of the competition.

Reigning champion John Baker is among the six Iditarod winners running next year.  The 2012 race promises to be ultra-competitive once again, as 7 of the top 10 and 15 of the top 20 mushers of this year’s race are entered.

Download Audio

Previous articleCan We Find An Alaskan Political Consensus?
Next articleChildren & Divorce
APTI Reporter-Producer Ellen Lockyer started her radio career in the late 1980s, after a stint at bush Alaska weekly newspapers, the Copper Valley Views and the Cordova Times. When the Exxon Valdez ran aground in Prince William Sound, Valdez Public Radio station KCHU needed a reporter, and Ellen picked up the microphone. Since then, she has literally traveled the length of the state, from Attu to Eagle and from Barrow to Juneau, covering Alaska stories on the ground for the AK show, Alaska News Nightly, the Alaska Morning News and for Anchorage public radio station, KSKA elockyer (at) alaskapublic (dot) org  |  907.550.8446 | About Ellen