Dallas Seavey Out First of White Mountain

Dallas Seavey continued his quest to win the 40th Iditarod leaving White Mountain about 8:22 this morning. Aliy Zirkle took off after Seavey who had about an hour head start. Seavey is racing with nine dogs. Zirkle has 10 in her team.

Other teams waiting to leave White Mountain this morning included: Ramey Smyth, Aaron Burmeister, Peter Kaiser, Ray Redington, Jr., past champion Mitch Seavey, and last year’s champ, John Baker.

Brent Sass was out of Elim and leading the field of rookies.