Buser Keeps Lead Out Of Eagle Island

About three hours separate Martin Buser from Aliy Zirkle and the rest of the pack.

Buser checked out of Eagle Island at 2:41 a.m. Saturday morning for his 60-mile run to Kaltag.

Seven other mushers have departed Eagle Island, including Zirkle, Mitch Seavey, Jessie Royer and Aaron Burmeister.

Royer is the only musher of the seven who has not taken both the mandatory 8-hour and 24-hour layovers.

Joar Leifseth Ulsom is the only rookie in the top-20, leaving Eagle Island in seventh place.