9 People Apply For Alaska House Vacancy

Nine people have applied to fill the vacancy in the Alaska House left by last week’s resignation of Beth Kerttula, a Juneau Democrat.

The list, released by the Tongass Democrats, includes Ken Alper, a former Kerttula aide who works as an oil and gas analyst for minority Democrats.

Other applicants are Nancy Barnes, James Betts, Sara Hannan, Jesse Kiehl, Sam Kito III, Tim Lamkin, Kim Metcalfe and Catherine Reardon.

All applicants were given a questionnaire to complete by noon on Friday. Tongass Democrats say public interviews of the candidates are planned this weekend, with plans to forward a list of three finalists to the governor.

House Democrats will have to ratify the appointee.

Kerttula last week stepped down as minority leader and resigned to take a fellowship with Stanford University.

Previous articleSea Lion Lunges At Sitka Fisherman
Next articleState Of The Union Speech 2014
Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

No posts to display