Buser Keeps Iditarod Lead; First Out of Nulato

Martin Buser, racing with 14 dogs, kept up his bid to win the 2014 Iditarod, leaving Nulato about 9:34 Friday night. Still in Nulato were Sonny Lindner, Aliy Zirkle and Jeff King.

Buser is attempting to win his 5th Iditarod. He won in 1992, 1994, 1997 and 2002.

Prior to reaching Nulato, both Buser and Zirkle had taken their mandatory 8-hour and 24-hour layovers. Lindner and King had not taken their 8-hour stops.

Last year’s winner – Mitch Seavey – was in 13th place and out of Galena.

Abbie West was leading the rookies and in Galena Friday night. She was in 18th place.