Zirkle Maintains First in Iditarod; King, Buser in Pursuit on Sunday

Aliy Zirkle maintained her lead in the 2014 Iditarod Sunday, leaving Shaktoolik about 7:12 a.m. She was fighting off challenges from former champions Jeff King and Martin Buser who followed her out of Shaktoolik on Sunday morning.

Behind King and Buser are Sonny Lindner, Aaron Burmeister and the 2012 champion, Dallas Seavey. That trio is also out of Shaktoolik.

Zirkle was racing with 11 dogs. King and Buser had 12 in their teams. Lindner had 13 dogs in his team. Burmeister had 10 and Dallas Seavey had nine.

Last year’s winner, Mitch Seavey, was in Shaktoolik on Sunday morning and in 7th place.

Abbie West continued to lead the rookie field. She was racing towards Unalakleet on Sunday morning.