Alaska Federation of Natives Wraps Up Annual Convention

The Alaska Federation of Natives wrapped up their annual convention with the usual process of amending and voting on resolutions.

Download Audio

The resolutions process was similar to past conventions except for the notable difference this year of candidate endorsements. AFN doesn’t usually endorse political candidates and delegates took an hour and a half behind locked doors to decide whether or not to approve a resolution seeking to endorse Mark Begich for U.S. Senate and Bill Walker for Governor.

After the lengthy session, the doors were unlocked and attendees streamed into the room to hear the decision. Greg Razo, an AFN board member and chair of the resolutions committee made the announcement.

“Consideration of resolution 14-46. A resolution entitled a resolution endorsing Mark Begich as candidate for the office of United States Senator for Alaska. As well as resolution 14-47, a resolution entitled, resolution endorsing Bill Walker and Byron Mallott for Governor and Lt Governor of the state of Alaska were discussed. I can report that both resolutions passed, “Razo said.

AFN’s theme this year was ‘Rise as One’. The annual convention concluded on Saturday afternoon.

Previous articleAVCP Settles in Software Copyright Lawsuit
Next articleAlaska’s Marijuana Legalization, Regulation Ballot Measure Similar To Washington State
Jennifer Canfield is a reporter at KTOO in Juneau.
Lori Townsend is the News Director for Alaska Public Media. She has worked in print and broadcast journalism for nearly 30 years. Radio brought her to Alaska, where she worked as a broadcast trainer for Native fellowship students at Koahnic Broadcasting before accepting a reporting/host position with APRN in 2003. APRN merged with Alaska Public Media a year later. Through her freelance work, she has produced news and feature stories nationally and internationally for Independent Native News, National Native News, NPR , Pacifica, Monitor Radio, Radio Netherlands and AIROS. Townsend is the recipient of numerous awards for her work from the Alaska Press Club, the Native American Journalists Association and a gold and a silver reel award from the National Federation of Community Broadcasters. 

No posts to display