Special: This is Now and That Was Then

This is Now That was Then

Alaska Public Media will be featuring a 12-part series on Turnagain Arm in April.

“Come along with Rachel, Matt, and Brooke as they guide you on a trip through the Eastern Kenai Peninsula of Alaska. Using land forms along the road system, you’ll learn about the unique history that spans for the indigenous people…to the explorers…to the gold miners…to the 1964 Earthquake. Discover why this region was dedicated as the first National heritage area within Alaska.”

The series – this is Now and That Was Then – is produced by Kenai-Mountains-Turnagain Arm, National Heritage Area.

Each episode will run between 8:00 pm and 8:30 pm on Saturday nights.

The series features numerous areas in the region including:

– Mt. Alice

– Resurrection Bay

– Mt. Marathon

– Exit Glacier

– Victor Creek

– Moose Pass

– Tern Lake

– The Forks

– Hope

– Turnagain Arm

– Portage