Dallas Seavey wins 2016 Iditarod in record time

Dallas Seavey coming into the checkpoint at Galena. (Photo by Zachariah Hughes/KSKA)
Dallas Seavey, pictured here in Galena, is the race’s newest four-time champion.(Photo by Zachariah Hughes/KSKA)
Dallas Seavey is the Iditarod’s newest four-time champion. He crossed beneath the Burled Arch in Nome at 2:20 a.m. Tuesday with six dogs and hugged his family and championship dogs.

His family now owns six titles, including two from his father, Mitch. His grandfather, Dan Seavey, ran the first Iditarod in 1973.

Seavey’s 2016 race set a new speed mark at 8 days, 11 hours, 20 minutes, and 16 seconds. Seavey broke the 2014 record in which he bypassed Aliy Zirkle in a blizzard outside of the Safety checkpoint.

At 29-years-old, Seavey is the youngest musher to reach four titles. It took him 10 years of racing to become one of the seven mushers who have won four or more races.

And for the second-straight year, Mitch Seavey finished second to his son Dallas. The younger Seavey left White Mountain with a 39-minute edge over his father.

Seavey banked rest into his team throughout the early part of the race before taking his 24-hour break in Cripple. He then began a series of runs that separated him from the competition until it was a three-man race between him, Mitch Seavey, and Brent Sass. Like in his previous victories, Seavey proved untouchable on the coast and was able to open up a gap on his veteran competitors.

Dallas Seavey is one of only four mushers to win three Iditarods in a row. With a decade of Iditarod racing under his belt, Dallas ties with Doug Swingley for third for the fewest number of races it took to achieve the elusive fourth victory.

Seavey wins a Dodge truck and $75,000 check for the victory.