8 vie for Chief Justice as Fabe retires

As Chief Justice Dana Fabe prepares to retire next May, there are eight candidates vying to fill the empty position on Alaska’s Supreme Court.

Download Audio

The applicants–announced today– are Ruth Botstein, Susan Carney, Kevin Clarkson, Andrew Guidi, Jahna Lindemuth, Phillip Pallenberg, Paul Roetman, David Voluck.

Justices are required to meet certain residency standards–and between them they have 223 years of residency in the state, and have nearly 200 years [186.5] years of experience practicing law.

After candidates are reviewed by the state’s Judicial Council, two names are passed to the governor, who has 45 days to make a decision about who will serve on the bench. The position of Chief Justice is decided among the five members on the court.

The public is encouraged to apply during the on-going evaluation phase.